Assignments - EDU 320/520
Friday, 21 May 2004

ASSIGNMENTS FOR LANGUAGE ARTS (EDU 320/520)

SPRING 2008

 Thursday, January 17  – Introduction and Responsive Classroom’s Morning Meeting Demonstration #1 in class.  Guests – Kassie Bagley, Dean Johnson, and Christine Wrage, Literacy Practicum veterans. Sunday night, January 20 - Send one response to Chapter 1 & 2 in Writing Essentials. Tuesday, January 22 –Writing Workshop #1 in class.   Thursday, January 24 - Morning Meeting Demonstration #2 in class  Sunday night, January 27 - Send one response to Chapter 3 and 4 in Writing Essentials, the Romano piece, “The Power of Voice,” and pp. 146-147. Tuesday, January 29 - Writing Workshop #2 in class.   Due: Two hard copies of first draft of writing experiment from the previous week.     Thursday, January 31- Morning Meeting Demonstration #3 in class  Sunday night, February 3 - Send response to Chapter 5 in Writing Essentials. Tuesday, February 5 - Writing Workshop #3 in class.   Due: Two hard copies of first draft of writing experiment from the previous week or two hard copies of a second draft from the first week of class.     Thursday, February 7 - Morning Meeting #1 in class.   Tuesday, February 12 - Reading Celebration Day (part 1)  Due:  Final draft of your Original Piece to read to classmates, as many 3x5” index cards as there are students in this class.  Thursday, February 14 - Reading Celebration Day (part 2)Due:  Final draft of your Original Piece to read to classmates, as many 3x5” index cards as there are students in this class.  Bring Writing Essentials to class. Sunday night, February 17 – Send Clinical Experience Response #1 or Literacy Practicum reflection #1.  Set up first Literacy Practicum 15-minute meeting in the coming week. Tuesday, February 19 - Student-led Morning Meeting #2 and Tier Two words experience in class.  Due: Bring one storybook, excerpt from a chapter book or novel, or a textbook at your chosen grade level for a Tier Two vocabulary experience in class. Wednesday night, February 20 – Grad students respond to two peer-reviewed articles. Thursday, February 21 - Writing Essentials Lesson Planning and Teaching Prep #1.   Sunday night, February 24 - Send response to Chapter 7 in Writing Essentials.   Tuesday, February 26 - Student-led Morning Meeting #3 and Writing Essentials Lesson Planning and Teaching Prep #2.

 

Thursday, February 28 - Student-led Morning Meeting #4

 

Sunday night, March 2 – Send Clinical Experience Response #2 or Literacy Practicum reflection #2 and one member of each group send Writing Essentials Lesson Planning and Teaching Update.   Due: Bring completed PPSSR to class. Tuesday, March 4 - Student-led Morning Meeting #5 and Writing Essentials Lesson Planning and Teaching Prep #3.    
Mid-semester Conferences  February 28, March 3, or March 4
 Wednesday, March 5 – Send response to Chapter 6 in Writing Essentials.  Literacy Project students DVD library assignment. Thursday, March 6 – Midterm Conferences – No class 
Spring Break  March 10 - 14
 Tuesday, March 18 - Paul Rosenblum, Fourth Grade Teacher at Plummer-Motz School in Falmouth.    

Wednesday night, March 19 – Send response to Paul Rosenblum’s visit.

 Thursday, March 20 - Writing Essentials Presentation #1  Sunday night, March 23Send response to Clinical Experience #3 or Literacy Practicum reflection #2. Tuesday, March 25 - Rubric-making experience in class Tuesday night, March 27 (grad students only) – Send response to each of two peer-reviewed academic articles. 

Thursday, March 27 - Lori Wilson, First Grade Teacher at Dayton Consolidated School in the Saco School District. 

 

Sunday night, March 30 – Send response to Lori Wilson’s visit.

 

Tuesday, April 1 - Writing Essentials Presentation #2. 

 Thursday, April 3 - Kim O’Connell, Seventh Grade Teacher at Rye, NH Junior High School.   Sunday night, April 6 – Send response to Kim O’Connell’s visit.  Literacy Practicum draft of teaching lesson plan is due. Tuesday, April 8 - Writing Essentials Presentation #3.   Thursday, April 10 – Writing Essentials Presentation #4.   

Thursday, April 10 – Literacy Project lesson plan draft due.

 Sunday night, April 13 – Send response to Writing Essentials DVD (Either Grade 4 students – Lahana, Max, Paige, and Garrett or Grade 2 students (Ervin, Derek, and AlexSandra). Note corresponding explanation in Writing Essentials, pp. 336-350. Tuesday, April 15 – Student Conferencing Experience Thursday, April 17  –Bring current pleasure reading book or a favorite pleasure reading book and markers for a poetry workshop in class. 

Due: Hard copy of Lesson Project lesson plan due. 

 Sunday night, April 20 – Send Clinical Experience Record Sheet electronically and send response to chapter 8, 9, and 10 in Writing Essentials. Tuesday, April 22  Literacy Project/Literacy Practicum Demonstrations and Grading.  Due: Literacy Practicum final draft with italicized comments about the actual teaching and one paragraph about the entire Literacy Practicum experience or Literacy Project final draft. Thursday, April 24  Literacy Project/Literacy Practicum Demonstrations.  Due: Literacy Practicum record sheet and Grad Student one page reflection Tuesday, April 29  – Literacy Project/Literacy Practicum Demonstrations    

Dan Rothermel, PhD

Department of Education

University of New England

Last Updated ( Tuesday, 18 December 2007 )